Minutes of the 2020 Business Meeting of the Appalachian Section –AAPT

Ohio University, Athens, OH

October 24, 2020

President-elect Justin Frantz (JF) called the virtual meeting to order at 12:05 pm.

Approval of the minutes

Dennis Kuhl (DK) moved to accept the minutes from the Fall 2019 Business meeting at Marshall University. JF seconded. Misspelling of Wiest was corrected. Corrected minutes passed unanimously.

Report from Treasurer

DK reported that as of the last statement (9/30/2020) there was \$2317.39 in the checking account.

We've encountered an issue with a lack of a FEIN needed to move the account to a new bank. DK will investigate. Discussion of difficulty collecting dues this year while a virtual meeting. Discussion of investigating electronic collection systems (e.g. Venmo and Paypal). John Stewart (JS) moved to not collect dues this year. JF seconded. Motion passed.

Discussion of Annual Meeting "Make-up" for Fall 2020

JF said Ohio University was not allowed to host the fall 2020 A-AAPT meeting in person. Do we want to have an online meeting in the spring? Tracey Delaney (TD) said there would be no reimbursement for travel in the spring from her institution. TD said virtual meetings this fall have been well-attended. JF said it is easier to get students to present at a virtual meeting. JS said students are stressed. TD said presenting is good for a student's resume. Sean McBride (SM) was supportive of a virtual meeting in the spring. JF suggested following our normal format. Joan Vogtman (JV) suggested several smaller meetings. JF said Ohio University would try to set up two or three evening meetings in the spring. JS suggested another time for open discussion on Covid teaching.

Future Meeting Hosts

2020 (Spring) Ohio University – Justin Frantz (JF) 2021 Frostburg State University – Eric Moore (EM) 2022 West Virginia Wesleyan College – Eric Reynolds (ER) 2023 West Virginia University – John Stewart (JS)

Section Representative

JS reported that most of the discussion at the Summer AAPT meeting was about the move to online teaching. There are section grants available. The target is building membership. Discussion about working to get more regional faculty involved in the section.

Report from the Two-Year College Representative

No report was given.

Report from the High School Representative

No report was given.

Report from the Membership and Recruitment Chair

SM plans to coordinate with Marshall Medical School to develop teacher lists.

Awards Committee

Joe Wiest (JW) nominated Maria Babiuc-Hamilton (MBH) to be on the Awards Committee.

Nominations Committee

DK proposed the following slate

President – Justin Frantz, Ohio University

VP/President Elect – Eric Moore, Frostburg State University

Awards Committee – Maria Babiuc-Hamilton

DK moved to accept the nominations. JV seconded. Motion passed.

Newsletter and Webpage Committee

Discussion of the format of our webpage, possibility of hosting our own, and costs of a reasonable URL. Discussion of a google site. General consensus to keep it as it is.

New Business

JF will communicate with the executive committee.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:22 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Dennis Kuhl, Secretary-Treasurer Appalachian Section - AAPT