Minutes of the 2022 Business Meeting of the Appalachian Section –AAPT

West Virginia Wesleyan College

October 22, 2022

President Eric Moore (EM) called the meeting to order at 11:31 pm.

Approval of the minutes

Bert Popson (BP) moved to accept the minutes from the Fall 2021 Business meeting at Frostburg

State University. Tracey DeLaney (TD) seconded. Minutes passed unanimously.

Report from Treasurer

Dennis Kuhl (DK) reported that at the meeting at Frostburg State University, including annual dues and registration fees, \$570 was collected. Due to local sponsorship by Frostburg State University, no

reimbursement was requested.

As of 9/30/2022 the section account with Truist Bank had a balance of \$2,887.87.

DK requested and received approval to consult an attorney who does non-profit law for advice on the proper paperwork to allow us to change our account over from a personal account to a more appropriate banking situation.

Future Meeting Hosts

2023 West Virginia University – John Stewart (JS)

2024 Marietta College – Dennis Kuhl (DK)

2025 Potomac State University (to be held at Frostburg State) – Joan Vogtman (JV)

2026 Ohio University – Justin Frantz (JF)

Discussion about future meeting hosts. Based on institutions in the region with a physics major, we have a 5-6 year rotation. We should reach out to places that teach physics but do not have a physics major.

Discussion about the Marietta meeting as a joint meeting with the Eastern Great Lakes Section of the American Physical Society (EGLS). Maria Babiuc-Hamilton (MBH) asked about cost-sharing obligations. DK said intention is to have A-AAPT people register separately (if desired), and payment for food options will be broken out separately.

Awards Committee

Joseph Wiest (JW) presented the Distinguished Service Award to John Lynch (JL) of Frostburg State University. Congratulations John!

Adjourn for lunch: 12:02 - 12:38

Section Representative

John Stewart (JS) reported that there are section grants available. The target is building membership.

AAPT can email all AAPT members in our region for us, if we want. For example, an email with a link to a Fall A-AAPT meeting website could help.

Report from the Two-Year College Representative

No report was given.

Report from the High School Representative

No report was given. JS mentioned that schools with graduate programs in education might be able to help us connect to HS teachers. Marshall is starting a program. JS said WVU has a program, but nobody completes it. They graduated 4 bachelors physics teachers last year. The State of WV is moving toward a 1 yr required student teaching experience, which is problematic.

Report from the Membership and Recruitment Chair

No report was given.

Nominations Committee

President – Joseph Wiest, West Virginia Wesleyan University

VP/President Elect – John Stewart, West Virginia University

Section Representative – John Stewart, West Virginia University

Membership Chair – Sean McBride, Marshall University

Awards Committee – Justin Frantz, Ohio University

Nominations Committee – Justin Frantz, Ohio University (note DK off the Nom. Com.)

DK moved to accept the nominations. BP seconded. Motion passed.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:54 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Dennis Kuhl, Secretary-Treasurer Appalachian Section - AAPT